23.01.2009 [News]

In January the National Academy of Science of Belarus celebrated its 80-annivesary

On 23 January the President of Belarus Alexander Lukashenko welcomed a group of Belarusian scientists and foreign guests. During this meeting several Russian and Chinese scientists have been marked with the state awards, including:
  • Academician Zhores I. Alfyorov, Nobel Prize Winner, Vice President of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Foreign Member of the NAS of Belarus with the Order of Friendship of People
  • Academician Valentin N. Parmon, Director General of the Catalysis Institute, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences with the Medal of Francysk Skaryna  in recognition of their considerable personal contribution to the development of bi-lateral cooperation in science and technology, and also training of scientific personnel
  • Li Haijian, President of the Shandong Academy of Sciences of the People’s Republic of China with the Medal of Francysk Skaryna for his considerable contribution to expanding the cooperation in science and technology between Belarus and Shandong Province and creating effective mechanisms for implementing joint research projects.

More information about the 80-anniversary of the NAS and dedicated events can be found at http://nanb80.belta.by/. This portal is a special joint project of Belarusian Telegraph Agency (BelTA) and scientific information and analytical newspaper “Vedu” of the NAS.

More information: http://president.gov.by/en/, http://nasb.gov.by/eng/news/

Source: BelTA