International Cooperation

Scope and objectives

Ukraine has implemented extensive scientific and technology cooperation with the countries of the world to raise the quality of the national scientific research and technologies that are produced basing on this research as well as integration of the Ukrainian scientific potential into the European and world research areas. The foreign policy of Ukraine is to ensure support of the Ukrainian science, culture and education and saving of intellectual potential as well as full value development of all fields of the Ukrainian culture, acceleration of the national renaissance and development of free cultural and humanitarian exchange with the countries of the world.

The legislation of Ukraine provides favourable conditions for international science and technology cooperation.

Thus, in particular, the Law of Ukraine 'On Science and Technology Priorities' (with amendments of 2010) defines legal and organizational principles of the complex system of formation and implementation of the science and technology priorities in Ukraine for the period up to 2020.

Cooperation with Eastern European and Central Asian countries

Ukraine concluded agreements on science and technology cooperation with 11 EECA countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The agreements define specific areas in which scientific potential on the bilateral level can be used most effectively.

Cooperation with EU-Member States and Associated Countries

The policy drive for the EU-Ukraine science and technology co-operation includes the following:

  • European Neighborhood Policy
  • EU-Ukraine Association Agreement
  • Agreement on Scientific and Technological Cooperation

In August 2015, the Parliament of Ukraine ratified the Agreement by exchange of notes on renewal of the Agreement on Scientific and Technological Cooperation between the European Community and Ukraine. The agreement renews the Agreement of July 4, 2002 signed in Copenhagen, which confirms importance of science and technology for the economic and social development of both Parties.

Association Agreement includes the part related to science and technology which provides for the following:

  • renew and activate the EC-Ukraine S&T cooperation agreement, in order to enhance the participation of Ukrainian research entities in Framework Programme;
  • use the available tools (S&T agreement, INCO-Nets) in order to prepare for a possible association of Ukraine to the Research Framework Programme;
  • Ukraine to promote the activities of the ICT National Contact Points and involve the private sector in the research cooperation.

Ukraine has S&T cooperation agreements with more than 50 countries, including the EU member-states and associated states. In particular, there are intergovernmental S&T cooperation agreements with the following 17 EU countries: Austria, Bulgaria, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain.

The Agreement on Association of Ukraine to Horizon 2020 was signed in Kyiv, Ukraine, on 20 March 2015. Horizon 2020 is the first EU programme in which Ukraine has chosen to participate following the beginning of provisional application of the EU-Ukraine Association Agreement. This Agreement was also ratified by the Ukrainian Parliament and entered into force.

Ukraine has also requested association to the Euratom Research and Training Programme.

In October 2013 an Agreement on Association of Ukraine to CERN Programme was signed; in September 2014 this Agreement was ratified by the Parliament of Ukraine and entered into force.

In October 2015 Ukraine associated to the EU Research Programme Eurostudent VI. In 2016 Agreement on Association of Ukraine to COSME Programme was signed in Brussels, Belgium.

Cooperation with international funds

Through National Academy of Sciences Ukraine is represented in 40 international organisations, namely COSPAR, IOC UNESCO, IUA, ALLEA, IIASA, EISCAT, etc. In 2014 Ukraine participated in 1885 grants in frame of these programmes (1193 - individual grants, 692 – group grants). 4513 Ukrainian scientists were involved in these grants.

Source: NIP
Last update:May 2016


  • Country Report 2016: Ukraine

    [PDF - 250.5 kB]

    (general information - research structure - research policies - international cooperation) (URL:

Contact Persons

  • The National Information Centre for Ukraine-EU S&T Cooperation (NIP)

    • 180 Gorkiy street
    • Kyiv, 03680 Ukraine
    • Telephone: +380 44 5290332
    • Fax: +380 445290332
    • Email Address: