06.11.2012 | Chisinau, Republic of Moldova

Workshop "Science Evaluation as prerequisite for promoting Excellence in Research"

The Academy of Sciences of Moldova, under the aegis of the Eastern Partnership (EaP) Platform 4 “Contacts between People” and in partnership with European Commission Directorate General for Research and Innovation, organized the regional workshop focusing on “Science evaluation as a prerequisite for promoting excellence in research” which was held in Chisinau, Republic of Moldova on November 6, 2012.
The aim of the event was to share experience and best practices on research and innovation proposals evaluation and to strengthen capacity in peer review practices in the EaP countries. This workshop gathered about 30 potential evaluators, project coordinators, registered FP7 experts, representatives of expert councils in charge of projects evaluation, national coordinators of joint international programmes, academies of sciences and research foundations in the EaP countries.

The opening ceremony was attended by Acad. Gheroghe Duca, President of the Academy of Sciences of Moldova, Dr. Mihail Sleahtitchi, Adviser to the President of the Republic of Moldova in the field of culture, education, science, Mr. Chiril Lucinschi, Head of the Parliamentary Commission for culture, education, research, youth, sport and mass-media, Dr. Loretta Handrabura, Deputy Minister of Education, Mr. Hubert Duhot, EU Delegation to the Republic of Moldova.

The European Commission was represented by Dr. Gediminas Ramanauskas, Policy Officer, European Eastern Neighbourhood, DG Research and Innovation and Dr. Sebastiano Fumero, Research Executive Agency.

Presentations were delivered by experts from EU Member States: Mr.  Klaus Schuch, Centre for Social Innovation, Austria; Mrs. Irina Slosar, Austrian Research Promotion Agency; Dr. Madis Saluveer, Estonian Research Council.

EaP countries experience in research proposals evaluation and selection was presented by Dr. Aleksan G. Shahkhatuni, State Committee of Science, Armenia; Dr. Elchin Babayev, Science Development Foundation under the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan; Dr. Anatoly Hryshanovich, Belarusian Innovation Fund; Dr. Veaceslav Kulcitki, Advisory Expertise Council, ASM, Moldova; Dr. Igor Yegorov, Centre for S&T Potential and Science History Studies, State Service of Statistics of Ukraine and Dr. George Kordzakhia, National Environmental Agency of Monitoring.

As a result of the Workshop, a resolution on setting a platform for international cooperation between EU MS and EaP countries in project evaluation was concluded.


provided by: Diana Grozav, Acadmy of Sciences of Moldova